Talk:Schedule/Submission review

From Wikimania 2012 • Washington, D.C., USA
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Note

Hey all, since the review process has already started and committee members will start voting, I wanted to clarify certain things. As I went through the table I found that a comment has been posted on 15 Ram's presentation stating that it is same as 109 Arnav's(mine) presentation, and on my column it says that its same as Ram's and 110 Debanjan's presentation and for Debanjan it says its same as Ram's and Arnav's. I would like to add that all the presentations are different, mine (Arnav's) deals with IEP stats and number and figures, Debanjan's proposal shows how a newbie suddenly started editing and got introduced to the world of WP because of IEP, whereas Ram's proposal deals with number of interesting questions related with outreach activities and getting newbies to edit WP which presumably he learnt during IEP and number of various other outreach activities he carried out. The only similarity in all three is, all of us are Campus Ambassadors for IEP and somewhere in our presentation proposal we used this because we learnt plenty of things from IEP. So I sincerely request everyone to take this in note. As far as I feel all three presentations are different. Rangilo Gujarati (talk) 18:19, 15 March 2012 (UTC)

Same means "same subject" for grouping purposes. Deror avi (talk) 18:38, 16 March 2012 (UTC)
As the common feature of IEP?? Cause I vehemently agree with Rangilo that the three are different. --Debastein (talk) 19:05, 16 March 2012 (UTC)

New Submissions

Would new submissions be automatically added here or should the authors request their submissions to be added to the list. Someone alerted me to make sure someone adds my submission to be included in the list for evaluation. My submission was on March 18th, entitled,Submissions/Tamil_WikiCulture_and_Outreach_Experience. I hope someone would add it to the list. Thanks.--C.R.Selvakumar (talk) 23:46, 19 March 2012 (UTC)

Only the Programme Committee adds the submissions to the list. If your submission is not on the list check if it is here. If so - do not worry. It will find its way to the review page. Deror avi (talk) 07:42, 21 March 2012 (UTC)
Thank you! --C.R.Selvakumar (talk) 15:51, 23 March 2012 (UTC)

Query

Please check this edit, Vote 4 has been placed but the User was not logged in while voting, so is it authentic or is it vandalism ? Rangilo Gujarati (talk) 15:45, 2 April 2012 (UTC)


Selected Presentations

Now that the due date is over, can we have a list of the selected presentations in a separate page? You can separate it into two categories - Confirmed (those who have registered)& Unconfirmed (not registered as yet) and update it on a regular basis. DebashisM (talk) 02:53, 12 April 2012 (UTC)

harej has tweeted tht d selected presentations will be notified shortly by apr 15. maybe we can wait.. 117.192.218.114 07:40, 12 April 2012 (UTC)

are these official tweets? if so, why there is no information on the submission page? I don't follow any tweets, what should I expect? are the selections also going to eb declared on tweets?--Dsvyas (talk) 12:46, 12 April 2012 (UTC)
I don't see the point of deciding which submissions will be accepted or not without the scholarship results, since many people's attendance is dependent on the latter. If the submission results are decided without consideration for scholarships then there could be a situation in which schedule is filled out with presentations that won't be presented as the presenters won't be able to get to Wikimania due to not getting a scholarship. CT Cooper · talk 16:34, 12 April 2012 (UTC)
I feel it the other way round. I have experienced that the scholarship decision was dependent on acceptance of submission. As such also, the schedule is not going to be finalised on the day submissions are accepted or rejected. Schedule should be finalised only nearer the time. Even scholarship recepients do drop out, and that's why there are always wait listed candidates. So don't quite agree with this argument.--Dsvyas (talk) 23:42, 13 April 2012 (UTC)
If that was true, I'm not sure how that was going to work exactly, given that the scholarship results were originally timetabled to be released before submission acceptances. A clear reason for the delay on the scholarships has not been given, though the original March 31 self-imposed deadline may have been unrealistic given that sorting through scholarships took two months in 2011, and late April will equate with about two months this year. The scholarship application form mentioned submissions, but as far as I can see it was based on intention to make a submission with no reference to acceptance - which is logical given the timetabling. CT Cooper · talk 14:21, 16 April 2012 (UTC)